Daily Archives: July 14, 2006

NO HARM NO FOWL

Okay so dragon mentioned something about my bird on her site so I might as well explain. I’ve had a cockatiel named peeps for 3 years now. My Uncle bought it for the family and when we got him he was only a couple months old. I love our little bird and have even been looking into getting him a mate since he seems to be lonely at night when we cover him up. He’s so lonely he even tries to mate with his hanging thing-a-ma-bob…Or so we thought HE was.

This strange new behavior appeared last night when I went to fill up his food bowl. The moment I stuck my hand in the cage he ran at me screeching like a banshee and was taking a very offensive posture with me. I needless to say yanked my arm out quickly and said “whoa peeps don’t bite the hand that feeds ya”. Then laughing, but a little nervous I stuck my hand in again and Peeps displayed the same odd behavior. It took three tries before he let me fill his food bowl, but he was still assuming an offensive posture with me. I just kind of laughed it off and covered him up for the night. Well when I got up this morning I remembered the odd behavior and went to check on him. As soon as I took the cover off of his cage he started hissing and jumping up at me then he ran back to the same corner he had been crouched in the night before. This started to puzzle me and I began interrogating all the kids and Jose (since he’s threatened to ring the birds neck on a few occasions) to see if anyone had been mean to or scared the bird somehow. Everyone denied knowing anything, and I thought okay someone is hiding something! I smelled a conspiracy!! Well I went back to the cage to console Peeps and was once again subjected to Peeps hissing and screeching at me…I know he was cussing me out in cockatiel, but I can’t prove it since I don’t speak cockatiel. It was during one of his charges that I noticed something. He was sitting on something! What the hell…Is that an egg?…But boys don’t lay eggs!!! Okay I’ll admit I was a little slow in realizing what this implied. PEEPS was NOT a male! Thank God I found out before buying a female to keep HIM company. I’ll admit in the grand scheme of things this is no big deal, but after the last couple of weeks this was just another bizarre incident to add to the list.

When life gives me lemons…

I try to make lemonade, but I end up squirting myself in the eye!

Oh yes it has been a very stressful time at the Goldblooms. I’ve been playing nurse maid to Jose who had outpatient surgery last week. The poor guy has been miserable! I also found out that my youngest son’s Phe levels are twice what they should be (he was born with PKU), and I have to make some major diet adjustments. Then a couple of nights ago my highly intelligent daughter decided that she could make it on her own and left in the middle of the night. We’ve been having some major problems with her and her respect for our authority. Since she is already finished with high school we told her if she got a good job and her own car we would let her move out before she turned 18 (in sept). We’d already tried to get her into college this coming fall and we told her she could live in the dormouse, but being the highly intelligent teen that she is she wanted to wait a year before starting college. Then she decided she wanted to go, but it was too late for this fall and freshman can’t start mid-year…so now she can’t get in until next August. If she doesn’t screw her life up too badly by then! I haven’t been able to sleep to well…Not knowing where one of your children is, or if they’re safe, or if they have anything to eat seems to mess with your ability to sleep. I have no idea who she is with but the last several months she has been communicating with thugs that she met on myspace. Well that about sums up how my life has been the last couple of weeks…I wonder if they have internet access at the local nuthouse?

UPDATE: Well Selina is home now. I called the police this morning and an officer came to my house and within a matter of a couple hours Selina was delivered to our front yard. Now that the police are involved she will go to a juvenile home if she runs off again before she turns 18. Hopefully she will listen to reason this time!