Our Halloween block party Debacle

Well last night was our “Halloween block party” which pretty much flopped. Only two households set up, ours & the household of the lady who started the whole thing. I had designed the fliers for this event about a month ago and we had our kids take them around and put them on peoples doors. Each house participating (which was 5+ when I signed on) was going to have some type of Halloween  activity for the kids to do, it was going to be great fun. We did face painting, and we (My daughter Katira & I) put quite a bit of work & planning into our face painting stand. Not to mention I went and bought all new paints & brushes. When all was said and done we ended up painting 5 kids faces, and one of them was my son JoseII. Only two groups of people came by our stand the whole time….lame! We closed the stand 1/2 an hour early, I’m sure there were hordes of unpainted children running around the neighborhood screaming in anguish. Next year if I’m asked to participate I’ll decline, I’ll probably still make the fliers if asked, but I wont be setting up a booth.

6 responses to “Our Halloween block party Debacle

  1. God I hate when that crap happens. Everyone is always so gung-ho and then when it come down to crunch time…they flop! I guess people don’t have the stick-to-it-iveness you do Goldbloom!

    Hope your weekend was great anyway.

  2. What a shame. I hate when people don’t keep to their commitments.

  3. I ran into the same crap when I tried to do a zombie gram for charity thing. Not one person volunteered, not one.

  4. People can be such a disappointment. *sigh*

    Here, paint my face! 🙂

  5. Oh man, I hate when that happens. People in my neighborhood tend to be like that, too.
    On the other hand, there’s a big “exclusive”subdivision two blocks away, and every year, almost every single house sets up a candy table outside and they all have a huge trick or treat and block party.
    But our neighborhood… nothin.

  6. No follow through! That’s the problem with America today. Oh Jeez, I’m starting to sound like my grandmother. Ack.

Leave a Reply

