The Sound of Music

The type of music you listen to has a lot to do with how you approach certain situations. In fact, music has a tremendous influence on our daily life. From catchy tunes playing on the television to what we listen to while in our cars, our auditory senses are overloaded on a regular basis. If we can manipulate ourselves similar to the way commercials do, we can ease the emotional tension inherent in our daily routine. From road rage to romance, our lives can run a little more smoothly.

So What music are you listening to right now & how is it affecting your mood? Here’s a list of songs I’ve been listening to this morning:

Aerosmith – Sweet Emotions

Guns-n-roses – Sweet child of mine

Whitney Houston – I wanna dance with somebody

Don’t underestimate the power that music has over your emotions. Our personalities are constantly shaped by the environment. Some of that is uncontrollable, but some of it can be regulated to achieve a desired result. If you find yourself constantly aggravated, tired, or depressed, change the music you’re listening to. 

19 responses to “The Sound of Music

  1. Great…no more death metal for me!

  2. I don’t know Tony I think I would be more apt to kill someone if I were listening to Lawrence Welk!

  3. Bubbles Bubbles…turn offa the bubbles please-um

  4. The only music I listen too is at work or in the car. I’m a listen to all kinds kinda guy. Whatever suits my mood…so normally rock.

    BTW, I’m feeling good. Last of my tests will be completed tomorrow.

  5. That’s great news Dazd…I bet you’ll be glad to have all those tests over with.

    I listen to all types of music too, but my two favorite genres are Dance & Rock.

  6. I listen to a variety of things too, but lately I’ve been listening to “With Arms Wide Open” by Creed and “Crucify” by Tori Amos. Go Figure. Guess I must be in a sappy mood….

  7. I’m an oldies person Big Band, Swing 50’s and 60’s rock.

    When I’m in a mood though I’ll listen to some 80’s heavy metal.

  8. I agree about the mood thing Michelle, I definitely think my mood & emotions have played a big part in my song selections lately. If anyone knows a song about going crazy please let me know…I think I should hear it!

  9. Hammer I like big band too…”Jump, Jive, & wail” is one of my favorites.

  10. Maybe we SHOULDN’T find a song about going crazy…that would only give you more incentive to go insane or encourage it, right? I think you should listen to “Welcome to the Jungle”, don’t you? More uplifting.

  11. Let’s see what I have listed in my ultra player….hmmm…
    Aerosmith/walk this way
    George Thorogood/move it on over
    Jane’s Addiction/been caught stealing
    Nine Inch Nail/Sin
    Queen/Another One Bites the Dust
    Aerosmith/eat the rich
    Iron Maiden/run for the hills

    Damn…I’m messed up. lolol

  12. Welcome to the jungle…Oh yeah I must go listen to that now!

    Dragos…you are one messed up puppy. 🙂

  13. There is this cool thing they did on pink cosmopolitan.
    http://www.pinkcosmopolitan.com/2006/10/23/you-cant-make-this-stuff-up/

    IF YOUR LIFE WAS A MOVIE, WHAT WOULD THE SOUNDTRACK BE?
    So, here’s how it works:
    1. Open your library (iTunes, Winamp, Media Player, iPod, etc)
    2. Put it on shuffle
    3. Press play
    4. For every question, type the song that’s playing
    5. When you go to a new question, press the next button
    6. Don’t lie and try to pretend you’re cool…

    Weird hilarious results ensue:

    Here’s mine

    Opening Credits: Devil or angel

    Waking Up: Are you ready

    First Day At School: Heartbeaker

    Falling In Love: Lawdy Ms Clawdy

    Fight Song: I’m still standing

    Breaking Up: Stuck on you

    Prom: Return to sender

    Life: A day in the life

    Mental Breakdown: Come on out tonight

    Driving: Locomotive breath

    Flashback: Venus in blue jeans

    Getting back together: Modern love

    Wedding: Missing you

    Birth of Child: Joy to the world

    Final Battle: You are here

    Death Scene: Start me up

    Funeral Song: Vamos a Bailar

    End Credits: Blue moon of Kentucky

  14. I’m going all high brow on you, I’ve been listening a lot lately to the Rachmaninov 2nd Piano Concerto.

    Other than that, I’m a softy, James Taylor, Bruce Hornsby. And I do like those Swing Era sounds!

  15. Hey Mrs. J – Thanks for the thought provoking post. This is a long one, sorry. You’ve touched on a passion of mine, although I can only carry a tune if I put it in my briefcase.

    I listen to an ‘Alternative Rock’ station all day at work. And usually in the car. My CD of choice these days is the new Nickelback CD ‘All the Right Reasons’. I really like;

    Rockstar – helps me escape the day on the drive home, especially the Playboy bunny part… heh
    Follow You Home & Animals – is just kick ass rock, plus speaks to my voyeur side and impulsive side.
    Next Contestant – is also just kick ass… I’m kinda wondering what that says about me…

    IMHO – music is like color. Unless you are color blind, you are always seeing all colors to some extent. To say you do not like… blue is weird. If you wore blue filtering glasses (not blue tented lenses, but actual color filters) the world would be VERY different. The same is with music. To say you do not like… RAP is like removing a note from a symphony. It messes up the whole thing.

    I also agree that music can set, enhance and even destroy a mood. I often use hard pounding rock in the car on the way home to help eat up some of the days stress.

  16. Goldbloom, you never said anything about this post.

  17. Tony I loved that post!…It was perfect.

  18. frothingatlemouse

    Tonight I cleaned the refrigerator and did laundry while listening to Vivaldi The Four Seasons. Good basic classical to ward off the creepy crawlies from the fridge.

  19. How much I envy those people who can capture a circumstance in three short stanzas with a catchy melody rather than my heavy, rambling prose. I listen to everything – metal, rock, pop, classical…there are songs that come out today that throw me right back to a memory from the past, and old songs that perfectly illustrate what’s happening in my life right now. Magical stuff, music.

Leave a Reply

