We Be Bloggin!

We are all blogging for one reason or the other, but the bottom line is WE LIKE IT. Some of us are drawn to it as if by some invisible magnetic pull, while others just do it to kill time. I blog to meet others out there in the blogosphere that I can share my life experiences with. I also like to show off some of my artistic creations, but this is not the reason I continue to blog. I certainly like to entertain others, wherever I go I like to be the life of the party. I must have some serious issues! Hey Drags do you need a new case study?

Below are some stats that I gathered from a survey over at “The Pew Trust.org“.

  • 54% of bloggers say that they have never published their writing or media creations anywhere else; 44% say they have published elsewhere.
  • 54% of bloggers are under the age of 30.
  • Women and men have statistical parity in the blog world, with women representing 46% of bloggers and men 54%.
  • 76% of bloggers say a reason they blog is to document their personal experiences and share them with others.
  • 64% of bloggers say a reason they blog is to share practical knowledge or skills with others.
  • When asked to choose one main subject, 37% of bloggers say that the primary topic of their blog is their life and experiences.
  • Other topics ran distantly behind: 11% of bloggers focus on politics and government; 7% on entertainment; 6% on sports; 5% on general news and current events; 5% on business; 4% on technology; 2% on religion, spirituality or faith. Smaller groups focus on a specific hobby, a health problem or illness, or other topics.
  • 44% of bloggers have taken material they find online – songs, text, or images – and remixed it into their own artistic creation. By comparison, just 18% of all internet users have done this.
  • A whopping 77% of bloggers have shared something online that they created themselves, such as their own artwork, photos, stories, or videos. By comparison, 26% of Internet users have done this.

 Okay now my question is…why do you blog? Enquiring minds want to know!

16 responses to “We Be Bloggin!

  1. I started out blogging to entertain myself. It worked! I cracked myself up. Then, other people started coming to my blog and were laughing at some of my stuff too. That, in turn, emboldened me to be more entertaining.

    Then, I started to get to know some of the people who commented on my blog. I laughed at their jokes, I shared their joys and felt their pain. I became an extended part of their families and truly believed they were my friends. Well, except one bitch that called me a troll.

    Now, I’m just hooked. I love blogging. It’s one of the most fun things I’ve ever done.

  2. It must be in the air, I posted this response on why I blog earlier today elsewhere:

    I look at blogging as a way to vent, pontificate, and tell jokes and stories that amuse me. Some of it I post because my family and friends have heard it all too many times before. Hell, now I have a new audience (all ten of you). Sometimes I write things that I would not say out loud. Mostly I like the anonymity. I like the secret double life. If I am honest, there is never any rejection, read my drivel or not. Mostly what you get on the old blog is pure unadulterated ME. Take it or leave it. Life is all about choices.

    Pretty much, my story is the same as Tony’s.

  3. I blog for all the same reasons that the other two posted. Plus one of the perks are meeting new friends.

  4. I use it as an outlet for my stream of consiousness.

    I don’t think my family would appreciate me droning on incessantly about farting preachers, people who have sex with dead deer and grandma’s floppy thing.

    Plus it’s nice meeting other bloggers with similar interests.

  5. Farting preachers, Hammer? Link, please!

  6. The warden, judge, and my therapist felt it would be a good idea…

    And here is the Farting Preacher:

    http://video.google.com/videosearch?q=farting+preacher

  7. I started blogging because I happened on someone’s blog (Lisa!) while researching some crime thing, and she inspired me to start blogging. Why do I keep blogging? Because I want to be infamous. 🙂 heh
    Actually it’s for different reasons. One part of me likes to rant and go on and on about something I’m ticked off about (judas priest’s new album). Another part of me loves to make people laugh, and I will pretty much do anything for a laugh. Sometimes I want to be inspirational and write things that might affect someone’s life in a positive way. And probably the most important reason I blog is I love to write. And instead of writing something and harrassing the people here to read it, I write and if someone wants to read it that’s fine, if they don’t then they can move on. Then of course there IS the infamous thing. 🙂

  8. I blog, therefore I am…something like that.

    I read a few blogs for a couple of months before deciding to give this a try. I didn’t comment (lurker) and really have no one particular person who inspired me. I blog because I find it theraputic (sp) and intriguing. I like to make people laugh and also to reflect. I’ve also made a few online friends, which friends are always a good thing to have around.

    I struggle with writing and conveying my thoughts. Blogging helps me overcome this obstacle and hopefully improve with each post. Time will tell if I’ve accomplished my goal or not but until then, I shall adapt and overcome.

  9. From my very first post:

    http://warts-n-all.blogspot.com/2006/03/welcome.html

    To these I would add: Blogging is a release. Much better to write than let things build up inside.

  10. Well, for whatever reason you blog…I’m sure glad you do! Happy Thanksgiving!

  11. ETCHEN!!! Where the heck have you been? I’ve been worried about you. Oh and Happy Thanksgiving too!

  12. Laugh…reflect…yeah, me too. I love the whole process of writing and editing a piece, choosing the right word, the right phrase, the right attitude, worrying it like a dog worries a bone. Love it, love it, love it. Can’t get enough of it. Oooh, a rhyme!

    Yes, it’s a disease.

    Happy Thanksgiving, all, I am thankful for you and your blog, Mrs. J.G.!

  13. Thanks Etchen and Sparrow, and also thank you other important readers of mine, thank you for sharing your blogging stories with me. Just Thanks to Everyone! Okay I’m better now.

  14. I guess I blog because it’s a way of saying, “hey, I’m here, world! I exist! Acknowledge me!”. But I like sharing my life and reading about other peoples’ lives. I know I’m not alone.

    Happy Thanksgiving!

  15. My Nephew sort of challanged me to try it. Hence the title, Your Crazy Uncle. I still don’t know why I keep doing it.

  16. hmmm… I’m a little late for this (not unusual for me, as my employers will agree..:))
    But, I started blogging because it was an outlet for depression at the time. It has now become a creative outlet that I absolutely love! I originally had no idea of anyone reading what I write… now, I welcome all my readers and have made many friends through the blog world. I consider myself blessed through blogging. A little sappy, but true.
    Happy belated Thanksgiving, Mrs JG!!

Leave a Reply

